Browse the place directories and read the reference tables below. Search and interactive comparisons need JavaScript.

A life in India · 15 evidence records

School years

Who goes to school, stays, and completes a qualification?

Explore the ten life stages
How to read these figures
  • School enrolments, retention rates and adult highest completed qualifications answer different questions. Secondary-and-above uses the published PLFS classification, including diploma/certificate as classified there.

1 Cr = 1,00,00,000 · 1 lakh = 1,00,000. Percentages, years, daily flows and rupees keep their own units. Showing full digits does not increase the source’s precision.

January–December 2025

Highest completed education: secondary

14.1%

Persons aged 15 years and above represented by PLFS 2025

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Rural13.3%
Urban15.6%
Male15.7%
Female12.4%

What this measures: Persons aged 15 years and above represented by PLFS 2025

Highest level successfully completed; categories are mutually exclusive. Graduate excludes postgraduate-and-above. Sample estimates, not present-year administrative counts. No crore counts calculated from unrelated population totals.

Official source ↗ · AppendixA Table8; printedA-19 / PDFp96; secondary column

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

January–December 2025

Highest completed education: higher secondary

12.8%

Persons aged 15 years and above represented by PLFS 2025

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Rural11.8%
Urban14.9%
Male14.2%
Female11.6%

What this measures: Persons aged 15 years and above represented by PLFS 2025

Highest level successfully completed; categories are mutually exclusive. Graduate excludes postgraduate-and-above. Sample estimates, not present-year administrative counts. No crore counts calculated from unrelated population totals.

Official source ↗ · AppendixA Table8; printedA-19 / PDFp96; highersecondary column

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

January–December 2025

Completed secondary and above, published Table 8 category

42.4%

Persons aged 15 years and above represented by PLFS 2025

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Rural35.2%
Urban57.1%
Male47.8%
Female37.2%

What this measures: Persons aged 15 years and above represented by PLFS 2025

Highest level successfully completed; categories are mutually exclusive. Graduate excludes postgraduate-and-above. Sample estimates, not present-year administrative counts. No crore counts calculated from unrelated population totals. Published combined category includes diploma/certificate as classified in this table. Distinct from the 67.8% attended-lowersecondary indicator.

Official source ↗ · AppendixA Table8; printedA-11–A-19 / PDFpp88–96; secondary-and-above column

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

Academic 2025–26

Preparatory-stage dropout rate, classesIII–V

1.8%

Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

A school-system administrative measure. Does not track one birth cohort to adulthood. Dropout, retention, transition, GER and examination pass rates have different denominators.

Official source ↗ · DropoutRate table

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

Academic 2025–26

Middle-stage dropout rate, classesVI–VIII

3.6%

Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

A school-system administrative measure. Does not track one birth cohort to adulthood. Dropout, retention, transition, GER and examination pass rates have different denominators.

Official source ↗ · DropoutRate table

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

Academic 2025–26

Secondary-stage dropout rate, classesIX–XII

7%

Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

A school-system administrative measure. Does not track one birth cohort to adulthood. Dropout, retention, transition, GER and examination pass rates have different denominators.

Official source ↗ · DropoutRate table

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

Academic 2025–26

Secondary-stage retention rate

51.9%

Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

A school-system administrative measure. Does not track one birth cohort to adulthood. Dropout, retention, transition, GER and examination pass rates have different denominators.

Official source ↗ · StudentRetentionRate table

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

Academic 2025–26

Transition from middle to secondary stage

88.3%

Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

A school-system administrative measure. Does not track one birth cohort to adulthood. Dropout, retention, transition, GER and examination pass rates have different denominators.

Official source ↗ · TransitionRate table

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

Academic 2025–26

Girls share of school enrolment

48.4%

Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: Students/stage-specific administrative enrolment represented by UDISE+; NEP structure

A school-system administrative measure. Does not track one birth cohort to adulthood. Dropout, retention, transition, GER and examination pass rates have different denominators.

Official source ↗ · FemaleRepresentation table

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

Academic 2025–26

School-system enrolments, foundational through secondary stages

24.72 Cr

enrolments

Full figure: 24,72,19,766 enrolments

Students reported to UDISE+, NEP structure, foundational through secondary; includes pre-primary in covered schools

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: Students reported to UDISE+, NEP structure, foundational through secondary; includes pre-primary in covered schools

Administrative enrolment stock; not all children in India or proof of attendance. Does not trace a birth cohort.

Official source ↗ · Detailed NEP report, section1.9, PDFp11 / printedp2

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

July 2017–June 2018

Pre-primary students whose medium matches the main home language

48%

Students aged 3–35 currently attending pre-primary education, rural+urban, all sexes

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Same as main home language48%
Hindi, different from main home language4.2%
English, different from main home language45%
Other medium / not reported2.7%

What this measures: Students aged 3–35 currently attending pre-primary education, rural+urban, all sexes

Historical 2017–18 survey, not current 2025–26 share. Medium is the language of learning material for most non-language subjects; not home-language ability or language taught as a subject. Other-language columns exclude home-language matches: the English column does not include English-home-language students taught in English. Totals may differ 0.1 pp from rounding. Survey student controls are not contemporary population counts.

Official source ↗ · Table60, rural+urban/persons/Pre-primary; PDFp1163 / printedA-844

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

July 2017–June 2018

Primary students whose medium matches the main home language

64.9%

Students aged 3–35 currently attending primary education, rural+urban, all sexes

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Same as main home language64.9%
Hindi, different from main home language8.3%
English, different from main home language23.2%
Other medium / not reported3.5%

What this measures: Students aged 3–35 currently attending primary education, rural+urban, all sexes

Historical 2017–18 survey, not current 2025–26 share. Medium is the language of learning material for most non-language subjects; not home-language ability or language taught as a subject. Other-language columns exclude home-language matches: the English column does not include English-home-language students taught in English. Totals may differ 0.1 pp from rounding. Survey student controls are not contemporary population counts.

Official source ↗ · Table60, rural+urban/persons/Primary; PDFp1164 / printedA-845

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

July 2017–June 2018

Upper primary/middle students whose medium matches the main home language

67.8%

Students aged 3–35 currently attending upper primary/middle education, rural+urban, all sexes

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Same as main home language67.8%
Hindi, different from main home language7.6%
English, different from main home language21%
Other medium / not reported3.6%

What this measures: Students aged 3–35 currently attending upper primary/middle education, rural+urban, all sexes

Historical 2017–18 survey, not current 2025–26 share. Medium is the language of learning material for most non-language subjects; not home-language ability or language taught as a subject. Other-language columns exclude home-language matches: the English column does not include English-home-language students taught in English. Totals may differ 0.1 pp from rounding. Survey student controls are not contemporary population counts.

Official source ↗ · Table60, rural+urban/persons/Upper primary/middle; PDFp1165 / printedA-846

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

July 2017–June 2018

Secondary students whose medium matches the main home language

68.1%

Students aged 3–35 currently attending secondary education, rural+urban, all sexes

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Same as main home language68.1%
Hindi, different from main home language7.6%
English, different from main home language20.9%
Other medium / not reported3.3%

What this measures: Students aged 3–35 currently attending secondary education, rural+urban, all sexes

Historical 2017–18 survey, not current 2025–26 share. Medium is the language of learning material for most non-language subjects; not home-language ability or language taught as a subject. Other-language columns exclude home-language matches: the English column does not include English-home-language students taught in English. Totals may differ 0.1 pp from rounding. Survey student controls are not contemporary population counts.

Official source ↗ · Table60, rural+urban/persons/Secondary; PDFp1166 / printedA-847

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

July 2017–June 2018

Higher secondary students whose medium matches the main home language

62%

Students aged 3–35 currently attending higher secondary education, rural+urban, all sexes

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Same as main home language62%
Hindi, different from main home language6.8%
English, different from main home language29.1%
Other medium / not reported2%

What this measures: Students aged 3–35 currently attending higher secondary education, rural+urban, all sexes

Historical 2017–18 survey, not current 2025–26 share. Medium is the language of learning material for most non-language subjects; not home-language ability or language taught as a subject. Other-language columns exclude home-language matches: the English column does not include English-home-language students taught in English. Totals may differ 0.1 pp from rounding. Survey student controls are not contemporary population counts.

Official source ↗ · Table60, rural+urban/persons/Higher secondary; PDFp1167 / printedA-848

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

Questions still needing better evidence

What language or medium do children study in?

Not established in this edition

The historical 2017–18 survey breakdowns are shown. No current all-India language-of-instruction split has been verified here. Mother tongue, school board, school counts and pupil medium are different measures.

Evidence needed: A pupil-level national medium-of-instruction table with year, education stage and a stated enrolment denominator.

How many people have ever passed Class 10 or Class 12?

Not established in this edition

Adult completed-level survey percentages are shown. A compatible national headcount of all living Class 10/12 pass-outs has not been verified.

Evidence needed: A weighted attainment count for the same age group and survey year, with diplomas classified consistently.

How to use this number

Is dropout the share of all children without schooling?

No. UDISE stage-specific dropout measures movement through the school system. Educational attainment, retention and transition rates describe different groups and should not be substituted for one another.

Read the matching evidence and context →

Explanation added 3 November 2026. Statistical reference periods and source-check dates remain those on the underlying records.

Explore detailed Census 2011 tables