Browse the place directories and read the reference tables below. Search and interactive comparisons need JavaScript.

A life in India · 12 evidence records

Born in India

How many children are born, and how does a birth happen?

Explore the ten life stages
How to read these figures
  • 2024 is a leap year: annual totals ÷366 give daily averages. These are averages, not a live counter.
  • Registered sex and rural–urban counts describe registrations. Place of occurrence is not the mother’s residence.
  • A non-Caesarean birth can be assisted vaginal delivery. Subtracting21.5 from100 does not identify unassisted natural births.

1 Cr = 1,00,00,000 · 1 lakh = 1,00,000. Percentages, years, daily flows and rupees keep their own units. Showing full digits does not increase the source’s precision.

2024

Registered births

2.55 Cr

birth registrations

Full figure: 2,54,73,389 birth registrations

Birth registrations included in CRS 2024

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Male1.34 Cr (52.5% of this total)
Female1.21 Cr (47.5% of this total)
Sex not reported1,169 (0.005% of this total)
Rural place of occurrence1.09 Cr (42.9% of this total)
Urban place of occurrence1.46 Cr (57.1% of this total)

What this measures: Birth registrations included in CRS 2024

Registrations are administrative records; may include delayed registration of earlier events. Goa excludes events over one year old; Delhi and Sikkim include events occurred and registered in 2024 only. Not the exact count of births occurring in 2024. Rural/urban means PLACE OF OCCURRENCE, not residence of mother or child; sex not reported is retained.

Official source ↗ · Statement 1 p1/PDF20; Table 1 p76/PDF95

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2024

Average registered births per day

≈69,599 / day

birth registrations per day

366 days in calendar 2024

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: 366 days in calendar 2024

Registrations are administrative records; may include delayed registration of earlier events. Goa excludes events over one year old; Delhi and Sikkim include events occurred and registered in 2024 only. Not the exact count of births occurring in 2024.

Calculation: 25,473,389 / 366

Official source ↗ · Derived from Statement 1 p1/PDF20

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2024

Estimated births

2.57 Cr

estimated births

Full figure: 2,57,09,853 estimated births

SRS rates applied to projected mid-year population

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: SRS rates applied to projected mid-year population

Model-based estimate printed by ORGI; based on SRS and Census 2011-based population projections; distinct from CRS registered births.

Official source ↗ · Statement 2 p2/PDF21

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2024

Estimated births per day

≈70,246 / day

estimated births per day

366 days in calendar 2024

Breakdowns, source and meaning

What this measures: 366 days in calendar 2024

Annual SRS-based estimate divided by 366; a daily average for 2024, not a live daily count.

Calculation: 25,709,853 / 366

Official source ↗ · Derived from Statement 2 p2/PDF21

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2019–21

Births delivered by Caesarean section

21.5%

Births in the five years before the survey

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Urban32.3%
Rural17.6%

What this measures: Births in the five years before the survey

Survey percentage of births in preceding five years; cannot be multiplied by 2024 registrations as an observed count. 100 minus this is NON-CAESAREAN, not necessarily unassisted or natural delivery.

Official source ↗ · India factsheet indicator 54, PDF page 8

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2019–21

Caesarean births in private health facilities

47.4%

Births in private health facilities in the five years before the survey

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Urban49.3%
Rural46%

What this measures: Births in private health facilities in the five years before the survey

Survey estimate from the NFHS-5 factsheet, 2019–21; not a count of today’s annual births or a longitudinal cohort.

Official source ↗ · India factsheet indicator 55, PDF page 8

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2019–21

Caesarean births in public health facilities

14.3%

Births in public health facilities in the five years before the survey

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Urban22.7%
Rural11.9%

What this measures: Births in public health facilities in the five years before the survey

Survey estimate from the NFHS-5 factsheet, 2019–21; not a count of today’s annual births or a longitudinal cohort.

Official source ↗ · India factsheet indicator 56, PDF page 8

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2019–21

Births in health institutions

88.6%

Births in the five years before the survey

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Urban93.8%
Rural86.7%

What this measures: Births in the five years before the survey

Survey estimate from the NFHS-5 factsheet, 2019–21; not a count of today’s annual births or a longitudinal cohort.

Official source ↗ · India factsheet indicator 50, PDF page 8

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2019–21

Births attended by skilled health personnel

89.4%

Births in the five years before the survey

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Urban94%
Rural87.8%

What this measures: Births in the five years before the survey

Skilled personnel include doctor, nurse, LHV, ANM, midwife or other health personnel; see factsheet footnote 10.

Official source ↗ · India factsheet indicator 53, PDF page 8

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2019–21

Antenatal check-up in first trimester

70%

Mothers for their last birth in the five years before the survey

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Urban75.5%
Rural67.9%

What this measures: Mothers for their last birth in the five years before the survey

Survey estimate from the NFHS-5 factsheet, 2019–21; not a count of today’s annual births or a longitudinal cohort.

Official source ↗ · India factsheet indicator 40, PDF page 8

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2019–21

At least four antenatal care visits

58.1%

Mothers for their last birth in the five years before the survey

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Urban68.1%
Rural54.2%

What this measures: Mothers for their last birth in the five years before the survey

Survey estimate from the NFHS-5 factsheet, 2019–21; not a count of today’s annual births or a longitudinal cohort.

Official source ↗ · India factsheet indicator 41, PDF page 8

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

2019–21

Mother received postnatal care within two days

78%

Mothers for their last birth in the five years before the survey

Breakdowns, source and meaning
Within the same source and measure
GroupValue
Urban84.6%
Rural75.4%

What this measures: Mothers for their last birth in the five years before the survey

Survey estimate from the NFHS-5 factsheet, 2019–21; not a count of today’s annual births or a longitudinal cohort.

Official source ↗ · India factsheet indicator 46, PDF page 8

Evidence reviewed 2026-10-16.

Questions still needing better evidence

How many births are natural or unassisted?

Not established in this edition

The verified Caesarean series does not separate unassisted from assisted vaginal delivery.

Evidence needed: A nationally representative delivery-mode table that explicitly separates assisted and unassisted vaginal births.

How to use this number

Which births-per-day figure should I quote?

Name both the measure and the 2024 reference year: a daily average of registrations and an SRS-based estimate of births answer different questions. Neither is a live counter. Their difference is not a measured registration shortfall.

Read the matching evidence and context →

Explanation added 3 November 2026. Statistical reference periods and source-check dates remain those on the underlying records.