Browse the place directories and read the reference tables below. Search and interactive comparisons need JavaScript.
India’s everyday indicators.
Explore the evidence.
Filter the checked figures by subject or search for a measure, population group or period. The reference period, denominator and original source travel with every download.
72 evidence records
Scroll the table sideways to see every column.
| Measure | Value | Who or what is counted? | Period and evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Households with at least one smartphoneIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 85.5%of households | All households represented by CMS Telecom 2025 | January–March 2025 Official source ↗Statement 13, printed page 24 / PDF page 35; smartphone-only plus both-phone-types categories. National headline also in the 29 May PIB release. Definition and limitsHousehold possession does not establish that each member personally owns or can independently use a smartphone. Rural and urban figures are calculated by adding mutually exclusive categories printed to one decimal; rounding is retained. |
| People aged 15+ who personally own a mobile phoneIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 70.2%of people aged 15+ | People aged 15 and above represented by the survey | January–March 2025 Official source ↗Statement 2, printed page 7 / PDF page 18; Appendix A Table 2, printed A15 / PDF page 54 Definition and limitsIncludes smartphones and other mobile phones. Ownership requires a device with an active SIM for personal use and does not require registration in the individual’s name. A shared phone is assigned using the majority-use rule. |
| Women aged 15+ who personally own a mobile phoneIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 56.2%of women aged 15+ | Women aged 15 and above represented by the survey | January–March 2025 Official source ↗Statement 2 and Figures 2.2–2.3, printed page 7 / PDF page 18; Appendix A Table 2, A15 / PDF page 54 Definition and limitsAny mobile phone, not smartphones alone. Household access and personal ownership use different units and must not be subtracted as if they measured the same people. |
| Households with internet access within their premisesIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 86.3%of households | All households represented by CMS Telecom 2025 | January–March 2025 Official source ↗Statement 14, printed page 24 / PDF page 35; Appendix A Table 14, A98–A100 / PDF pages 137–139 Definition and limitsIncludes access using a mobile network; this is not fixed broadband penetration or the proportion of individuals who used the internet. |
| Households with an optical-fibre internet connectionIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 7.1%of households | All households represented by CMS Telecom 2025 | January–March 2025 Official source ↗Statement 14, printed page 24 / PDF page 35; Appendix A Table 13, A95–A97 / PDF pages 134–136 Definition and limitsThis narrower connection measure is not the same as all internet access, fixed/Wi-Fi use or service availability near a home. |
| People aged 15+ who used the internet in the preceding three monthsIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 70%of people aged 15+ | People aged 15 and above represented by the survey | January–March 2025 Official source ↗Statement 3, printed page 8 / PDF page 19 Definition and limitsAt least one use from any location, on any device and for any purpose; not daily use, paid subscription or independent access. |
| Young people aged 15–29 who used the internet in the preceding three monthsIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 93.6%of people aged 15–29 | People aged 15–29 represented by the survey | January–March 2025 Official source ↗Statement 3, printed page 8 / PDF page 19; Figure 3.1, printed page 9 / PDF page 20; official PIB release key highlights Definition and limitsAn age-specific rate. It must not be relabelled as the share of all Indians using the internet. We use 93.6% from the report’s age-specific tables. The accompanying PIB summary gives 94.3% for ages 15–29; the detailed report gives 94.3% for ages 15–24. The figures shown here follow Statement 3 and Appendix A Table 3. |
| Wireless telephone subscriptions, including M2M and fixed wireless accessIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 1,312.25million subscriptions | Wireless subscriber base reported by telecom service providers to TRAI | 31 August 2026 Official source ↗Page 1, highlights table, Total Telephone Subscribers / Wireless column and * footnote Definition and limitsIncludes machine-to-machine cellular connections and fixed wireless access. Multiple connections may belong to one person or organisation. These are not 1,312.25 million unique people. |
| Broadband subscriptions excluding M2M cellular mobile connectionsIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 1,010.28million subscriptions | Broadband connections reported by telecom service providers; M2M cellular mobile connections excluded | 31 August 2026 Official source ↗Page 1, highlights table, Broadband Subscribers without M2M cellular mobile connections / Total column Definition and limitsStill a connection count, not unique people or households. Includes wireless and wireline broadband; one user can hold more than one connection. |
| Telephone density excluding M2M cellular mobile connectionsIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 85.26subscriptions per 100 projected people | Reported telephone subscriptions divided by TRAI’s projected population denominator | 31 August 2026 Official source ↗Page 1, highlights table, Tele-density without M2M cellular mobile connections / Total column and @ footnote Definition and limitsAn administrative subscription-to-population ratio, not the percentage of people who own phones. Do not cap values at 100 or combine service-area geographies with state data without checking definitions. |
| Labour force participation rate, age 15+India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 55.6%of population aged 15+ | Population aged 15+; numerator is people employed or unemployed under Current Weekly Status | August 2026; age 15+; Current Weekly Status Official source ↗Statement 1, age 15+ rows, PDF page 5; printed page 4 Definition and limitsCurrent Weekly Status uses the preceding seven days. Participation is not the proportion in salaried employment. Monthly and annual usual-status figures must remain separate. |
| Worker population ratio, age 15+India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 52.8%of population aged 15+ | Population aged 15+; numerator is employed people under Current Weekly Status | August 2026; age 15+; Current Weekly Status Official source ↗Statement 2, age 15+ rows, PDF page 8; printed page 7 Definition and limitsMeasures employment relative to the age-eligible population. It does not indicate hours, earnings, job security or whether the work is salaried. |
| Unemployment rate, age 15+India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 5%of labour force aged 15+ | Labour force aged 15+; numerator is unemployed people under Current Weekly Status | August 2026; age 15+; Current Weekly Status Official source ↗Statement 3, age 15+ rows, PDF page 11; printed page 10 Definition and limitsThe denominator is the labour force, not all adults or all residents. People outside the labour force are not all unemployed. Retain one decimal when displaying 5.0. |
| Female labour force participation rate, age 15+India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 34.8%of women aged 15+ | Female population aged 15+; numerator is employed or unemployed women under Current Weekly Status | August 2026; age 15+; Current Weekly Status Official source ↗Statement 1, age 15+ / female column, PDF page 5; printed page 4 Definition and limitsUse with the corresponding female worker-population ratio and employment composition. A participation rate alone does not establish paid employment, income or work quality. |
| Unincorporated non-agricultural establishmentsIndia · Businesses, establishments and formalisation | 79,246,500estimated establishments | Unincorporated non-agricultural manufacturing, trade and other-services establishments covered by ASUSE; construction excluded | January–December 2025 Official source ↗Statement 2, printed page 18 / PDF page 44, All* row; source unit hundreds, multiplied by 100 Definition and limitsSurvey estimate of establishments, not all companies, all MSMEs, all businesses or households. Includes own-account and hired-worker establishments. Independently rounded component totals can differ slightly. |
| Workers in unincorporated non-agricultural establishmentsIndia · Businesses, establishments and formalisation | 128,051,800estimated workers | Workers reported by establishments within ASUSE’s covered unincorporated non-agricultural sectors | January–December 2025 Official source ↗Statement 17, printed page 34 / PDF page 60, All* row; source unit hundreds, multiplied by 100 Definition and limitsIncludes working owners, hired workers, unpaid family workers and other workers. It is not an estimate of all employment in India or a count of salaried jobs. The rural and urban components sum 100 above the separately rounded national estimate. |
| Unincorporated establishments using the internet for businessIndia · Businesses, establishments and formalisation | 39.4%of covered establishments | Unincorporated non-agricultural manufacturing, trade and other-services establishments covered by ASUSE; construction excluded | January–December 2025 Official source ↗Statement 16, printed page 32 / PDF page 58, All* rows, using internet / All column Definition and limitsBusiness use during the preceding 365 days. This is not household internet access, online selling, digital payment acceptance or every enterprise in India. |
| Annual emoluments per hired worker in covered establishmentsIndia · Businesses, establishments and formalisation | 146,550rupees per hired worker per year | Hired workers in ASUSE hired-worker establishments within covered sectors | January–December 2025 Official source ↗Statement 21, printed page 39 / PDF page 65, All* row Definition and limitsMean annual compensation at current prices, including relevant cash/in-kind allowances and employer benefits. It is neither median take-home pay nor the earnings of working owners or all workers. |
| Gross value added per worker in covered market establishmentsIndia · Businesses, establishments and formalisation | 156,539rupees per worker per year | Workers in market establishments within ASUSE’s covered unincorporated non-agricultural sectors | January–December 2025 Official source ↗Table 1, GVA per worker row, ASUSE 2025 column; * footnote applies to market establishments Definition and limitsCurrent-price value added per worker is a productivity measure. It is not salary, take-home pay, sales revenue or real growth after inflation. |
| Registered motor vehiclesIndia · Vehicles, transport and commuting | 354,018,000registered vehicles | All vehicle categories in the state/UT registration returns compiled by MoRTH | 31 March 2022; provisional Official source ↗Appendix 11, printed page 133 / PDF page 135, 2022(P) row / All Vehicles column; source unit thousands Definition and limitsProvisional stock at 31 March 2022. Not current 2026 registrations, unique owners, active vehicles or drivers. Source values have been converted from thousands to vehicles. |
| Registered two-wheelersIndia · Vehicles, transport and commuting | 263,378,000registered vehicles | Two-wheelers in the state/UT registration returns compiled by MoRTH | 31 March 2022; provisional Official source ↗Appendix 11, printed page 133 / PDF page 135, 2022(P) row / Two Wheelers column; source unit thousands Definition and limitsProvisional registration stock, not the number or percentage of households owning a two-wheeler and not the number of riders. |
| Registered cars, jeeps and taxisIndia · Vehicles, transport and commuting | 49,051,000registered vehicles | The combined cars, jeeps and taxis registration category compiled by MoRTH | 31 March 2022; provisional Official source ↗Appendix 11, printed page 133 / PDF page 135, 2022(P) row / Cars, Jeeps and Taxis column; source unit thousands Definition and limitsIncludes taxis and jeeps. It must not be presented as private household cars, car-owning households or people licensed to drive. |
| Telephone density including M2M cellular mobile connectionsIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 95.07subscriptions per 100 projected people | Reported telephone subscriptions divided by TRAI’s projected population denominator | 31 August 2026 Official source ↗Page 1, highlights table, Overall Tele-density with M2M / Total column and @ footnote Definition and limitsIncludes machine-to-machine connections. Rural/urban densities are subscription ratios using the report’s geography and projected populations, not individual ownership percentages. Values above 100 are possible. |
| Female worker population ratio, age 15+India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 33%of women aged 15+ | Female population aged 15+; numerator is employed women under Current Weekly Status | August 2026; age 15+; Current Weekly Status Official source ↗Statement 2, age 15+ / female column, PDF page 8; printed page 7 Definition and limitsEmployed women as a share of the corresponding female population. Includes the types of work recognised by PLFS; does not measure paid salaried employment alone. |
| Female unemployment rate, age 15+India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 5.1%of female labour force aged 15+ | Female labour force aged 15+; numerator is unemployed women under Current Weekly Status | August 2026; age 15+; Current Weekly Status Official source ↗Statement 3, age 15+ / female / rural+urban cell, PDF page 11; printed page 10 Definition and limitsThe denominator is women in the labour force, not all women aged 15+. It cannot be subtracted from 100 to obtain the share of all women employed. |
| Mobile-phone owners aged 15+ who own a smartphoneIndia · Digital access, devices and internet use | 81.9%of mobile-phone owners aged 15+ | People aged 15+ who personally own any mobile phone, represented by CMS Telecom | January–March 2025 Official source ↗Statement 2.1, printed page 8 / PDF page 19, age 15+ row; smartphone and both columns Definition and limitsConditional on already owning a mobile phone: the denominator is mobile-phone owners aged 15+, not all people aged 15+ or all residents. Calculated by adding the source’s mutually exclusive smartphone-only and both-phone-types categories: India 79.9 + 2.0 = 81.9; rural 76.0 + 1.9 = 77.9; urban 85.9 + 2.1 = 88.0. Inputs are rounded survey estimates. The three India categories sum to 100.1 because of rounding. No number of smartphone owners or whole-population rate has been inferred. |
| Hindu share of India’s Census 2011 populationIndia · Religion and historical population composition | 79.8% | All persons in Census 2011; reported religious community | 2011 Official source ↗C-01 India Total; one-decimal percentage also published in the 25 August 2015 release Definition and limitsHistorical enumerated population, not 2026 religious composition. Retains all 35 Census 2011 geographies, including undivided Andhra Pradesh, the former Jammu and Kashmir state, and separate Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. Other religions and persuasions and Religion not stated are retained separately. Religion not stated is not synonymous with atheist, no religion, or other religions. Shares are calculated from the table’s exact counts. Rounded shares may not sum to precisely 100%. Aggregate place composition must not be used to assign religion to a person or household. |
| Muslim share of India’s Census 2011 populationIndia · Religion and historical population composition | 14.2% | All persons in Census 2011; reported religious community | 2011 Official source ↗C-01 India Total; one-decimal percentage also published in the 25 August 2015 release Definition and limitsHistorical enumerated population, not 2026 religious composition. Retains all 35 Census 2011 geographies, including undivided Andhra Pradesh, the former Jammu and Kashmir state, and separate Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. Other religions and persuasions and Religion not stated are retained separately. Religion not stated is not synonymous with atheist, no religion, or other religions. Shares are calculated from the table’s exact counts. Rounded shares may not sum to precisely 100%. Aggregate place composition must not be used to assign religion to a person or household. |
| Population in the Hindi language group, by mother tongueIndia · Languages and mother tongues | 43.63% | All Census 2011 persons; mother-tongue returns grouped under Hindi | 2011 Official source ↗Statement 4, printed p.15 / PDF p.17, Hindi row Definition and limitsC-16 classifies mother-tongue returns; it does not measure everyone who can speak a language, bilingual ability, preferred advertising language, reading proficiency or ethnicity. The Hindi language-group total includes multiple mother tongues grouped under Hindi. It is different from the narrower Hindi mother-tongue entry. Only the 22 scheduled language groups are in this ranking. The full publication contains 121 language groups and also explains grouped, unclassified and small returns. Sanskrit’s percentage is marked N in the source, not zero. |
| Population within the 22 scheduled language groupsIndia · Languages and mother tongues | 96.71% | All Census 2011 persons; classified mother-tongue returns | 2011 Official source ↗General Note paragraph 8, printed p.4 / PDF p.6 Definition and limitsC-16 classifies mother-tongue returns; it does not measure everyone who can speak a language, bilingual ability, preferred advertising language, reading proficiency or ethnicity. The Hindi language-group total includes multiple mother tongues grouped under Hindi. It is different from the narrower Hindi mother-tongue entry. Only the 22 scheduled language groups are in this ranking. The full publication contains 121 language groups and also explains grouped, unclassified and small returns. Sanskrit’s percentage is marked N in the source, not zero. |
| Language groups in the Census 2011 publicationIndia · Languages and mother tongues | 121published language groups | Census language classification after scrutiny and grouping of mother-tongue returns | 2011 Official source ↗General Note paragraphs 4–5, printed p.4 / PDF p.6 Definition and limitsC-16 classifies mother-tongue returns; it does not measure everyone who can speak a language, bilingual ability, preferred advertising language, reading proficiency or ethnicity. The Hindi language-group total includes multiple mother tongues grouped under Hindi. It is different from the narrower Hindi mother-tongue entry. Only the 22 scheduled language groups are in this ranking. The full publication contains 121 language groups and also explains grouped, unclassified and small returns. Sanskrit’s percentage is marked N in the source, not zero. This is not an exhaustive count of every language or dialect spoken in India. |
| Women aged 15–49 reporting never eating fish, chicken or meatIndia · Food And Diet | 29.4% | Women aged 15–49 represented by NFHS-5 | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 10.25, printed p.437 / PDF p.472; women / Fish, chicken or meat / Never Definition and limitsPercentages describe reported habitual frequency, not quantities, nutrient adequacy, lifetime abstention or a measured dietary intake on a particular day. Women and men in this table are both aged 15–49; this is not an all-age population estimate. The male report sample in this table is narrower than the full male interview sample. Eggs, fish, chicken/meat and the combined fish/chicken/meat row are separately defined. The combined row is published by NFHS; it must not be reconstructed by adding overlapping separate percentages. Never eating fish/chicken/meat does not identify a strict vegetarian or vegan population. Separate egg and meat percentages do not reveal their joint overlap. Do not average male and female percentages to invent a national vegetarian share. |
| Women aged 15–49 reporting never eating eggsIndia · Food And Diet | 28% | Women aged 15–49 represented by NFHS-5 | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 10.25, printed p.437 / PDF p.472; women / Eggs / Never Definition and limitsPercentages describe reported habitual frequency, not quantities, nutrient adequacy, lifetime abstention or a measured dietary intake on a particular day. Women and men in this table are both aged 15–49; this is not an all-age population estimate. The male report sample in this table is narrower than the full male interview sample. Eggs, fish, chicken/meat and the combined fish/chicken/meat row are separately defined. The combined row is published by NFHS; it must not be reconstructed by adding overlapping separate percentages. Never eating fish/chicken/meat does not identify a strict vegetarian or vegan population. Separate egg and meat percentages do not reveal their joint overlap. Do not average male and female percentages to invent a national vegetarian share. |
| Men aged 15–49 reporting never eating fish, chicken or meatIndia · Food And Diet | 16.6% | Men aged 15–49 represented by NFHS-5 | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 10.25, printed p.437 / PDF p.472; men / Fish, chicken or meat / Never Definition and limitsPercentages describe reported habitual frequency, not quantities, nutrient adequacy, lifetime abstention or a measured dietary intake on a particular day. Women and men in this table are both aged 15–49; this is not an all-age population estimate. The male report sample in this table is narrower than the full male interview sample. Eggs, fish, chicken/meat and the combined fish/chicken/meat row are separately defined. The combined row is published by NFHS; it must not be reconstructed by adding overlapping separate percentages. Never eating fish/chicken/meat does not identify a strict vegetarian or vegan population. Separate egg and meat percentages do not reveal their joint overlap. Do not average male and female percentages to invent a national vegetarian share. |
| Men aged 15–49 reporting never eating eggsIndia · Food And Diet | 15.4% | Men aged 15–49 represented by NFHS-5 | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 10.25, printed p.437 / PDF p.472; men / Eggs / Never Definition and limitsPercentages describe reported habitual frequency, not quantities, nutrient adequacy, lifetime abstention or a measured dietary intake on a particular day. Women and men in this table are both aged 15–49; this is not an all-age population estimate. The male report sample in this table is narrower than the full male interview sample. Eggs, fish, chicken/meat and the combined fish/chicken/meat row are separately defined. The combined row is published by NFHS; it must not be reconstructed by adding overlapping separate percentages. Never eating fish/chicken/meat does not identify a strict vegetarian or vegan population. Separate egg and meat percentages do not reveal their joint overlap. Do not average male and female percentages to invent a national vegetarian share. |
| Rural food share of total consumption expenditureRural India · Food Spending | 47.04% | All persons represented in the rural household population; all-category expenditure is the share denominator | August 2023–July 2024 Official source ↗Table 3.5, printed pp.30–31 / PDF pp.48–49; Food total / rural Definition and limitsCurrent-price monthly per capita consumption expenditure (MPCE), not income, salary, cash purchases alone or a median. Reference period August 2023–July 2024. Uses the report’s series excluding additional imputation for specified free social-welfare items. Ordinary valuation of home-produced and otherwise received consumption is still included. Every item mean uses all estimated persons in the rural or urban population, not only its buyers, consumers or tenants. Urban rent of ₹460 is not the average monthly rent paid by a renting household. Clothing, bedding and footwear are combined in Table 3.5. The processed-food group includes purchased cooked meals and snacks; it is not synonymous with ultra-processed food. Rounded rupee categories may not sum exactly to the printed rounded total; published values and shares are retained rather than recomputed from rounded rupees. |
| Rural clothing, bedding and footwear consumption expenditureRural India · Clothing, bedding and footwear | 273INR per person per month | All persons represented in the rural household population; all-category expenditure is the share denominator | August 2023–July 2024 Official source ↗Table 3.5, printed pp.30–31 / PDF pp.48–49; Clothing, bedding and footwear / rural Definition and limitsCurrent-price monthly per capita consumption expenditure (MPCE), not income, salary, cash purchases alone or a median. Reference period August 2023–July 2024. Uses the report’s series excluding additional imputation for specified free social-welfare items. Ordinary valuation of home-produced and otherwise received consumption is still included. Every item mean uses all estimated persons in the rural or urban population, not only its buyers, consumers or tenants. Urban rent of ₹460 is not the average monthly rent paid by a renting household. Clothing, bedding and footwear are combined in Table 3.5. The processed-food group includes purchased cooked meals and snacks; it is not synonymous with ultra-processed food. Rounded rupee categories may not sum exactly to the printed rounded total; published values and shares are retained rather than recomputed from rounded rupees. |
| Rural rent consumption expenditureRural India · Housing, tenure, rooms and condition | 23INR per person per month | All persons represented in the rural household population; all-category expenditure is the share denominator | August 2023–July 2024 Official source ↗Table 3.5, printed pp.30–31 / PDF pp.48–49; Rent / rural Definition and limitsCurrent-price monthly per capita consumption expenditure (MPCE), not income, salary, cash purchases alone or a median. Reference period August 2023–July 2024. Uses the report’s series excluding additional imputation for specified free social-welfare items. Ordinary valuation of home-produced and otherwise received consumption is still included. Every item mean uses all estimated persons in the rural or urban population, not only its buyers, consumers or tenants. Urban rent of ₹460 is not the average monthly rent paid by a renting household. Clothing, bedding and footwear are combined in Table 3.5. The processed-food group includes purchased cooked meals and snacks; it is not synonymous with ultra-processed food. Rounded rupee categories may not sum exactly to the printed rounded total; published values and shares are retained rather than recomputed from rounded rupees. |
| Urban food share of total consumption expenditureUrban India · Food Spending | 39.68% | All persons represented in the urban household population; all-category expenditure is the share denominator | August 2023–July 2024 Official source ↗Table 3.5, printed pp.30–31 / PDF pp.48–49; Food total / urban Definition and limitsCurrent-price monthly per capita consumption expenditure (MPCE), not income, salary, cash purchases alone or a median. Reference period August 2023–July 2024. Uses the report’s series excluding additional imputation for specified free social-welfare items. Ordinary valuation of home-produced and otherwise received consumption is still included. Every item mean uses all estimated persons in the rural or urban population, not only its buyers, consumers or tenants. Urban rent of ₹460 is not the average monthly rent paid by a renting household. Clothing, bedding and footwear are combined in Table 3.5. The processed-food group includes purchased cooked meals and snacks; it is not synonymous with ultra-processed food. Rounded rupee categories may not sum exactly to the printed rounded total; published values and shares are retained rather than recomputed from rounded rupees. |
| Urban clothing, bedding and footwear consumption expenditureUrban India · Clothing, bedding and footwear | 396INR per person per month | All persons represented in the urban household population; all-category expenditure is the share denominator | August 2023–July 2024 Official source ↗Table 3.5, printed pp.30–31 / PDF pp.48–49; Clothing, bedding and footwear / urban Definition and limitsCurrent-price monthly per capita consumption expenditure (MPCE), not income, salary, cash purchases alone or a median. Reference period August 2023–July 2024. Uses the report’s series excluding additional imputation for specified free social-welfare items. Ordinary valuation of home-produced and otherwise received consumption is still included. Every item mean uses all estimated persons in the rural or urban population, not only its buyers, consumers or tenants. Urban rent of ₹460 is not the average monthly rent paid by a renting household. Clothing, bedding and footwear are combined in Table 3.5. The processed-food group includes purchased cooked meals and snacks; it is not synonymous with ultra-processed food. Rounded rupee categories may not sum exactly to the printed rounded total; published values and shares are retained rather than recomputed from rounded rupees. |
| Urban rent consumption expenditureUrban India · Housing, tenure, rooms and condition | 460INR per person per month | All persons represented in the urban household population; all-category expenditure is the share denominator | August 2023–July 2024 Official source ↗Table 3.5, printed pp.30–31 / PDF pp.48–49; Rent / urban Definition and limitsCurrent-price monthly per capita consumption expenditure (MPCE), not income, salary, cash purchases alone or a median. Reference period August 2023–July 2024. Uses the report’s series excluding additional imputation for specified free social-welfare items. Ordinary valuation of home-produced and otherwise received consumption is still included. Every item mean uses all estimated persons in the rural or urban population, not only its buyers, consumers or tenants. Urban rent of ₹460 is not the average monthly rent paid by a renting household. Clothing, bedding and footwear are combined in Table 3.5. The processed-food group includes purchased cooked meals and snacks; it is not synonymous with ultra-processed food. Rounded rupee categories may not sum exactly to the printed rounded total; published values and shares are retained rather than recomputed from rounded rupees. |
| Households reporting pucca houseIndia · Housing, tenure, rooms and condition | 60.3% | Households represented by NFHS-5; not persons | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 2.6, printed p.40 / PDF p.75 Definition and limitsHistorical NFHS-5 survey estimates for 2019–21; do not label these as current 2026 asset access or substitute them into NFHS-6. Values in this series describe households. The separate deJurePopulationPercent field is the percentage of usual-resident people in such households and can differ. Pucca is the survey’s materials-based classification, not a certificate of legal tenure, structural safety, floor area or housing affordability. Clean cooking fuel includes electricity, LPG/natural gas and biogas. The reported fuel measure does not establish exclusive use, refill affordability or the absence of other fuels. Basic sanitation means use of an improved facility not shared with another household; it is not a measure of sewage treatment or safely managed sanitation. Possession of an asset does not count devices, establish device quality or usage, or prove a person can use it. Ownership of a house is the survey response, not a title-registry audit. |
| Households reporting clean cooking fuelIndia · Electricity and household appliances | 58.6% | Households represented by NFHS-5; not persons | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 2.6, printed p.40 / PDF p.75; definition on printed p.41 Definition and limitsHistorical NFHS-5 survey estimates for 2019–21; do not label these as current 2026 asset access or substitute them into NFHS-6. Values in this series describe households. The separate deJurePopulationPercent field is the percentage of usual-resident people in such households and can differ. Pucca is the survey’s materials-based classification, not a certificate of legal tenure, structural safety, floor area or housing affordability. Clean cooking fuel includes electricity, LPG/natural gas and biogas. The reported fuel measure does not establish exclusive use, refill affordability or the absence of other fuels. Basic sanitation means use of an improved facility not shared with another household; it is not a measure of sewage treatment or safely managed sanitation. Possession of an asset does not count devices, establish device quality or usage, or prove a person can use it. Ownership of a house is the survey response, not a title-registry audit. |
| Households reporting own a houseIndia · Housing, tenure, rooms and condition | 72.7% | Households represented by NFHS-5; not persons | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 2.12, printed p.48 / PDF p.83 Definition and limitsHistorical NFHS-5 survey estimates for 2019–21; do not label these as current 2026 asset access or substitute them into NFHS-6. Values in this series describe households. The separate deJurePopulationPercent field is the percentage of usual-resident people in such households and can differ. Pucca is the survey’s materials-based classification, not a certificate of legal tenure, structural safety, floor area or housing affordability. Clean cooking fuel includes electricity, LPG/natural gas and biogas. The reported fuel measure does not establish exclusive use, refill affordability or the absence of other fuels. Basic sanitation means use of an improved facility not shared with another household; it is not a measure of sewage treatment or safely managed sanitation. Possession of an asset does not count devices, establish device quality or usage, or prove a person can use it. Ownership of a house is the survey response, not a title-registry audit. |
| Households reporting basic sanitation serviceIndia · Electricity and household appliances | 69.3% | Households represented by NFHS-5; not persons | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 2.2, printed p.35 / PDF p.70 Definition and limitsHistorical NFHS-5 survey estimates for 2019–21; do not label these as current 2026 asset access or substitute them into NFHS-6. Values in this series describe households. The separate deJurePopulationPercent field is the percentage of usual-resident people in such households and can differ. Pucca is the survey’s materials-based classification, not a certificate of legal tenure, structural safety, floor area or housing affordability. Clean cooking fuel includes electricity, LPG/natural gas and biogas. The reported fuel measure does not establish exclusive use, refill affordability or the absence of other fuels. Basic sanitation means use of an improved facility not shared with another household; it is not a measure of sewage treatment or safely managed sanitation. Possession of an asset does not count devices, establish device quality or usage, or prove a person can use it. Ownership of a house is the survey response, not a title-registry audit. |
| Households reporting internetIndia · Electricity and household appliances | 48.8% | Households represented by NFHS-5; not persons | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 2.11, printed p.47 / PDF p.82 Definition and limitsHistorical NFHS-5 survey estimates for 2019–21; do not label these as current 2026 asset access or substitute them into NFHS-6. Values in this series describe households. The separate deJurePopulationPercent field is the percentage of usual-resident people in such households and can differ. Pucca is the survey’s materials-based classification, not a certificate of legal tenure, structural safety, floor area or housing affordability. Clean cooking fuel includes electricity, LPG/natural gas and biogas. The reported fuel measure does not establish exclusive use, refill affordability or the absence of other fuels. Basic sanitation means use of an improved facility not shared with another household; it is not a measure of sewage treatment or safely managed sanitation. Possession of an asset does not count devices, establish device quality or usage, or prove a person can use it. Ownership of a house is the survey response, not a title-registry audit. |
| Population living in households with electricityIndia; Manipur excluded · Electricity and household appliances | 98.3% | Population represented in the household survey, not number of households | 2023–24 Official source ↗India—Key Indicators, indicator 4; printed p.4 / PDF p.26 Definition and limitsProvisional NFHS-6 estimates for the 2023–24 round; fieldwork May 2023–December 2024; Manipur excluded. Not 2026 administrative counts. Household-based and person-based indicators have different denominators. Each indicator retains its published universe. Improved drinking-water source is a source-type classification, including specified piped, protected and packaged sources. It does not by itself establish water quality testing, uninterrupted supply or safely managed service. Electricity presence is different from reliability, hours of supply and affordability. An account held by any household member is different from individual access or usage. NFHS-5 totals are shown only as printed by NFHS-6. Round comparisons need attention to changed coverage and definitions; do not mix a household share with a person share. |
| Population living in households with an improved drinking-water sourceIndia; Manipur excluded · Electricity and household appliances | 96.5% | Population represented in the household survey, not number of households | 2023–24 Official source ↗India—Key Indicators, indicator 5; printed p.4 / PDF p.26 Definition and limitsProvisional NFHS-6 estimates for the 2023–24 round; fieldwork May 2023–December 2024; Manipur excluded. Not 2026 administrative counts. Household-based and person-based indicators have different denominators. Each indicator retains its published universe. Improved drinking-water source is a source-type classification, including specified piped, protected and packaged sources. It does not by itself establish water quality testing, uninterrupted supply or safely managed service. Electricity presence is different from reliability, hours of supply and affordability. An account held by any household member is different from individual access or usage. NFHS-5 totals are shown only as printed by NFHS-6. Round comparisons need attention to changed coverage and definitions; do not mix a household share with a person share. |
| Households with any usual member having a bank/post office accountIndia; Manipur excluded · Electricity and household appliances | 98.2% | Households with at least one usual member holding an account; not the share of people with an active account | 2023–24 Official source ↗India—Key Indicators, indicator 8; printed p.4 / PDF p.26 Definition and limitsProvisional NFHS-6 estimates for the 2023–24 round; fieldwork May 2023–December 2024; Manipur excluded. Not 2026 administrative counts. Household-based and person-based indicators have different denominators. Each indicator retains its published universe. Improved drinking-water source is a source-type classification, including specified piped, protected and packaged sources. It does not by itself establish water quality testing, uninterrupted supply or safely managed service. Electricity presence is different from reliability, hours of supply and affordability. An account held by any household member is different from individual access or usage. NFHS-5 totals are shown only as printed by NFHS-6. Round comparisons need attention to changed coverage and definitions; do not mix a household share with a person share. |
| Women aged 15–49 who have ever used the internetIndia; Manipur excluded · Electricity and household appliances | 64.3% | Women aged 15–49 represented by the survey; ever-use, not current or daily use | 2023–24 Official source ↗India—Key Indicators, indicator 14; printed p.4 / PDF p.26 Definition and limitsProvisional NFHS-6 estimates for the 2023–24 round; fieldwork May 2023–December 2024; Manipur excluded. Not 2026 administrative counts. Household-based and person-based indicators have different denominators. Each indicator retains its published universe. Improved drinking-water source is a source-type classification, including specified piped, protected and packaged sources. It does not by itself establish water quality testing, uninterrupted supply or safely managed service. Electricity presence is different from reliability, hours of supply and affordability. An account held by any household member is different from individual access or usage. NFHS-5 totals are shown only as printed by NFHS-6. Round comparisons need attention to changed coverage and definitions; do not mix a household share with a person share. |
| Men aged 15–49 who have ever used the internetIndia; Manipur excluded · Electricity and household appliances | 80.5% | Men aged 15–49 represented by the survey; ever-use, not current or daily use | 2023–24 Official source ↗India—Key Indicators, indicator 15; printed p.4 / PDF p.26 Definition and limitsProvisional NFHS-6 estimates for the 2023–24 round; fieldwork May 2023–December 2024; Manipur excluded. Not 2026 administrative counts. Household-based and person-based indicators have different denominators. Each indicator retains its published universe. Improved drinking-water source is a source-type classification, including specified piped, protected and packaged sources. It does not by itself establish water quality testing, uninterrupted supply or safely managed service. Electricity presence is different from reliability, hours of supply and affordability. An account held by any household member is different from individual access or usage. NFHS-5 totals are shown only as printed by NFHS-6. Round comparisons need attention to changed coverage and definitions; do not mix a household share with a person share. |
| Households possessing a carIndia · Vehicles, transport and commuting | 7.5%of households | Households represented by NFHS-5, according to urban/rural residence | 2019–21 Official source ↗Table 2.11, printed p.47 / PDF p.82 Definition and limitsHistorical NFHS-5 estimates for 2019–21. Household possession does not count cars, drivers, licence holders or people who travel by car. The separate 8.0% usual-resident population measure has a different denominator; this figure is 7.5% of households. |
| School teachers in UDISE+India · Education, enrolment and skills | 10,273,020teachers | UDISE+ school system; stage-specific student universe where stated | Academic year 2025–26 Official source ↗Number of Teachers Definition and limitsAdministrative school records. NEP stages must be retained: foundational, preparatory (classes III–V), middle (VI–VIII), secondary (IX–XII). School facility availability is not household coverage or a learning outcome. A national pupil-teacher ratio does not describe each classroom. |
| Schools with internet facilityIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 67.4%of schools | UDISE+ school system; stage-specific student universe where stated | Academic year 2025–26 Official source ↗Schools with Internet Facility Definition and limitsAdministrative school records. NEP stages must be retained: foundational, preparatory (classes III–V), middle (VI–VIII), secondary (IX–XII). School facility availability is not household coverage or a learning outcome. A national pupil-teacher ratio does not describe each classroom. |
| Schools with computer accessIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 69.9%of schools | UDISE+ school system; stage-specific student universe where stated | Academic year 2025–26 Official source ↗Schools with Computer Access Definition and limitsAdministrative school records. NEP stages must be retained: foundational, preparatory (classes III–V), middle (VI–VIII), secondary (IX–XII). School facility availability is not household coverage or a learning outcome. A national pupil-teacher ratio does not describe each classroom. |
| Schools with electricityIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 95%of schools | UDISE+ school system; stage-specific student universe where stated | Academic year 2025–26 Official source ↗Schools with basic infrastructure Definition and limitsAdministrative school records. NEP stages must be retained: foundational, preparatory (classes III–V), middle (VI–VIII), secondary (IX–XII). School facility availability is not household coverage or a learning outcome. A national pupil-teacher ratio does not describe each classroom. |
| Schools with ramps and handrailsIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 58.2%of schools | UDISE+ school system; stage-specific student universe where stated | Academic year 2025–26 Official source ↗Schools with Ramps and handrails Definition and limitsAdministrative school records. NEP stages must be retained: foundational, preparatory (classes III–V), middle (VI–VIII), secondary (IX–XII). School facility availability is not household coverage or a learning outcome. A national pupil-teacher ratio does not describe each classroom. |
| Secondary dropout rate, classes IX–XIIIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 7% | UDISE+ school system; stage-specific student universe where stated | Academic year 2025–26 Official source ↗Dropout Rate, Secondary Definition and limitsAdministrative school records. NEP stages must be retained: foundational, preparatory (classes III–V), middle (VI–VIII), secondary (IX–XII). School facility availability is not household coverage or a learning outcome. A national pupil-teacher ratio does not describe each classroom. |
| Secondary gross enrolment ratio, classes IX–XIIIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 71.7% | UDISE+ school system; stage-specific student universe where stated | Academic year 2025–26 Official source ↗GER, Secondary Definition and limitsAdministrative school records. NEP stages must be retained: foundational, preparatory (classes III–V), middle (VI–VIII), secondary (IX–XII). School facility availability is not household coverage or a learning outcome. A national pupil-teacher ratio does not describe each classroom. |
| School students enrolled in government schoolsIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 55.9%of enrolled school students | Currently enrolled school students represented by CMS Education 2025 | April–June 2025 survey; current academic year Official source ↗Dominant enrolment in Government schools Definition and limitsSample survey of currently enrolled school students; includes anganwadis as pre-primary and presents private coaching separately from school spending. Not directly comparable to NSS 75th-round 2017–18 expenditure. Survey totals are only for rates/ratios, not definitive population counts. State estimates require sample-size/RSE consideration. Values below are national rural/urban estimates, not state estimates. |
| School students taking or having taken private coachingIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 27%of enrolled school students | Currently enrolled school students represented by CMS Education 2025 | April–June 2025 survey; current academic year Official source ↗Prevalence of private coaching Definition and limitsSample survey of currently enrolled school students; includes anganwadis as pre-primary and presents private coaching separately from school spending. Not directly comparable to NSS 75th-round 2017–18 expenditure. Survey totals are only for rates/ratios, not definitive population counts. State estimates require sample-size/RSE consideration. Values below are national rural/urban estimates, not state estimates. |
| Household school expenditure per government-school studentIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 2,863INR per student | Government-school students represented by CMS Education 2025 | April–June 2025 survey; current academic year Official source ↗Significantly low per-student expenditure in Government schools Definition and limitsSample survey of currently enrolled school students; includes anganwadis as pre-primary and presents private coaching separately from school spending. Not directly comparable to NSS 75th-round 2017–18 expenditure. Survey totals are only for rates/ratios, not definitive population counts. State estimates require sample-size/RSE consideration. Values below are national rural/urban estimates, not state estimates. |
| Household school expenditure per non-government-school studentIndia · Education, enrolment and skills | 25,002INR per student | Non-government-school students represented by CMS Education 2025 | April–June 2025 survey; current academic year Official source ↗Significantly low per-student expenditure in Government schools Definition and limitsSample survey of currently enrolled school students; includes anganwadis as pre-primary and presents private coaching separately from school spending. Not directly comparable to NSS 75th-round 2017–18 expenditure. Survey totals are only for rates/ratios, not definitive population counts. State estimates require sample-size/RSE consideration. Values below are national rural/urban estimates, not state estimates. |
| Male participation in unpaid domestic services, ages 15–59India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 30.4%of persons on diary day | Male persons aged 15–59 represented by TUS 2024 | January–December 2024; reference diary day Official source ↗Table 1, unpaid domestic services, 15–59 years Definition and limitsSample-survey estimates. Participation means doing an activity on the reference day. Per-participant minutes exclude people who did not do the activity; per-person minutes include them. Employment-related participation is not the PLFS labour-force rate. Age groups 15–29 and 15–59 overlap and must not be added. Total per-person minutes can differ from 1440 from rounding. Activity classification and treatment of simultaneous activities belong to the report; these records do not add participant durations to infer a daily budget. |
| Female participation in unpaid domestic services, ages 15–59India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 92.9%of persons on diary day | Female persons aged 15–59 represented by TUS 2024 | January–December 2024; reference diary day Official source ↗Table 1, unpaid domestic services, 15–59 years Definition and limitsSample-survey estimates. Participation means doing an activity on the reference day. Per-participant minutes exclude people who did not do the activity; per-person minutes include them. Employment-related participation is not the PLFS labour-force rate. Age groups 15–29 and 15–59 overlap and must not be added. Total per-person minutes can differ from 1440 from rounding. Activity classification and treatment of simultaneous activities belong to the report; these records do not add participant durations to infer a daily budget. |
| Time spent on unpaid domestic services by male participants aged 15–59India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 86minutes per day per participant | Male persons aged 15–59 who participated in unpaid domestic services | January–December 2024; reference diary day Official source ↗Table 2, unpaid domestic services, 15–59 years Definition and limitsSample-survey estimates. Participation means doing an activity on the reference day. Per-participant minutes exclude people who did not do the activity; per-person minutes include them. Employment-related participation is not the PLFS labour-force rate. Age groups 15–29 and 15–59 overlap and must not be added. Total per-person minutes can differ from 1440 from rounding. Activity classification and treatment of simultaneous activities belong to the report; these records do not add participant durations to infer a daily budget. |
| Time spent on unpaid domestic services by female participants aged 15–59India · Jobs, employees and the labour force | 305minutes per day per participant | Female persons aged 15–59 who participated in unpaid domestic services | January–December 2024; reference diary day Official source ↗Table 2, unpaid domestic services, 15–59 years Definition and limitsSample-survey estimates. Participation means doing an activity on the reference day. Per-participant minutes exclude people who did not do the activity; per-person minutes include them. Employment-related participation is not the PLFS labour-force rate. Age groups 15–29 and 15–59 overlap and must not be added. Total per-person minutes can differ from 1440 from rounding. Activity classification and treatment of simultaneous activities belong to the report; these records do not add participant durations to infer a daily budget. |
| Persons reporting illness in previous 15 daysIndia · Household finance, women’s property and health cover | 13.1%of persons | Persons represented by NSS Health 2025 | January–December 2025 survey; recall period as labelled Official source ↗B. Key findings Definition and limitsSample survey and self-reported illness; not clinical prevalence. Hospitalisation rate is instances per 100 persons, excluding childbirth, not necessarily distinct people. Expenses are out-of-pocket medical expenditure at survey-period prices, per case, not hospital prices or insurance premium. Private includes government-empanelled private facilities. Mean and median answer different questions and must stay separate. Survey coverage is persons, whereas NFHS household-health-cover indicators use a different denominator. |
| Childbirths occurring in institutionsIndia · Household finance, women’s property and health cover | 96.2%of childbirths | Childbirths during previous 365 days represented by NSS Health 2025 | January–December 2025 survey; recall period as labelled Official source ↗B3 childbirth Definition and limitsSample survey and self-reported illness; not clinical prevalence. Hospitalisation rate is instances per 100 persons, excluding childbirth, not necessarily distinct people. Expenses are out-of-pocket medical expenditure at survey-period prices, per case, not hospital prices or insurance premium. Private includes government-empanelled private facilities. Mean and median answer different questions and must stay separate. Survey coverage is persons, whereas NFHS household-health-cover indicators use a different denominator. |
| Mean out-of-pocket medical expenditure per hospitalisationIndia · Household finance, women’s property and health cover | 34,064INR per case | Hospitalisation cases excluding childbirth during previous 365 days | January–December 2025 survey; recall period as labelled Official source ↗B5 expenditure I, All, Average Definition and limitsSample survey and self-reported illness; not clinical prevalence. Hospitalisation rate is instances per 100 persons, excluding childbirth, not necessarily distinct people. Expenses are out-of-pocket medical expenditure at survey-period prices, per case, not hospital prices or insurance premium. Private includes government-empanelled private facilities. Mean and median answer different questions and must stay separate. Survey coverage is persons, whereas NFHS household-health-cover indicators use a different denominator. |
| Median out-of-pocket medical expenditure per hospitalisationIndia · Household finance, women’s property and health cover | 11,285INR per case | Hospitalisation cases excluding childbirth during previous 365 days | January–December 2025 survey; recall period as labelled Official source ↗B5 expenditure I, All, Median Definition and limitsSample survey and self-reported illness; not clinical prevalence. Hospitalisation rate is instances per 100 persons, excluding childbirth, not necessarily distinct people. Expenses are out-of-pocket medical expenditure at survey-period prices, per case, not hospital prices or insurance premium. Private includes government-empanelled private facilities. Mean and median answer different questions and must stay separate. Survey coverage is persons, whereas NFHS household-health-cover indicators use a different denominator. |
| Residents classified as migrants in PLFSIndia · Migration, birthplace and changes of residence | 28.9%of residents | PLFS 2020–21 household members | July 2020–June 2021 Official source ↗Annexure Statement 1, male+female, rural+urban Definition and limitsA residence-history stock; not annual migration flow. PLFS sample was not specifically designed for migration. |
No matching figures. Try a broader term or another subject.
Keep the question and the denominator together.
Survey percentages apply to the group named in the table. Older benchmarks remain useful when their dates remain visible. A national survey share cannot automatically be applied to every state, district, age group or customer segment.
Read the full data articles